Twitter, formerly known as X, has recently discontinued a feature called Circles, which allowed users to post content that was only visible to a select group of people. This feature was similar to Instagram’s Close Friends feature and was announced in September. X Support account has warned users about this change, stating that previous posts that were set to be visible only to Circles will still be accessible by those in the Circles. However, moving forward, it will no longer be possible to post exclusively to Circles.
Circles was a feature introduced by Twitter in 2022, allowing users to tweet or post content to a limited group. However, in the era of Elon Musk, who is driving the direction of Twitter, this feature is being removed. There have been incidents where tweets were leaked and shown in the For You section.
TLDR: Twitter (previously known as X) is discontinuing Circles, a feature that allowed users to post limited visibility content. Posts that were previously set to be seen by Circles will still be visible to them, but posting exclusively to Circles will no longer be possible. This change aligns with Twitter’s direction under Elon Musk. TechCrunch is the source of this information.